



Electronic Notes in Theoretical Computer Science

Electronic Notes in Theoretical Computer Science 237 (2009) 1–2

www.elsevier.com/locate/entcs

Preface

This volume contains the proceedings of the 8th International Workshop on Reduction Strategies in Rewriting and Programming (WRS 2008). The workshop was held in the Castle of Hagenberg, Austria on July 14, 2008 and collocated with the 19th International Conference on Rewriting Techniques and Applications (RTA 2008). The workshop promotes and stimulates research and collaboration in the area of strategies. It encourages the presentation of new directions, developments, and results as well as surveys and tutorials on existing knowledge in this area. Previous editions of the workshop were held in Utrecht (2001), Copenhagen (2002), Valencia (2003), Aachen (2004), Nara (2005), Seattle (2006), and Paris (2007).

WRS 2008 received eleven submissions. Each submission was assigned to at least three program committee members, who reviewed the papers with the help of ten external referees. After careful deliberations the program committee decided to accept eight papers for presentation. The program also included an invited talk by Yves Lafont on Diagram Rewriting: Examples and Theory. One of the eight papers accepted for presentation was also accepted for the final proceedings. The authors of the remaining papers were invited to submit revised versions after the workshop. Of these seven papers, six were submitted and subjected to an additional round of refereeing, resulting in further revisions. These proceedings contain the final results.

Many people helped to make WRS 2008 a success. I am grateful to the members of the program committee and the external reviewers for their work. A special thanks to Temur Kutsia, who chaired the organisation committee of RTA 2008 and affiliated events. The financial support of the following sponsors is gratefully acknowledged: Linzer Hochschulfonds, Upper Austrian Government, Austrian Federal Ministry of Science and Research (BMWF), and Johann Radon Institute for Computational and Applied Mathematics of the Austrian Academy of Sciences (RI-CAM). Finally, the EasyChair system of Andrei Voronkov considerably eased the task of the program chair.

Program Committee

Elvira Albert Madrid Helene Kirchner Bordeaux Gabriele Keller Sydney Temur Kutsia Linz

Ian Mackie	Paris	Femke van Raamsdonk	Amsterdam
Aart Middeldorp	Innsbruck	Kristoffer Rose	$Yorktown\ Heights$
Pierre-Etienne Moreau	Nancy	Amr Sabry	Blooming ton
Michael Norrish	Canberra	Masahiko Sakai	Nagoya

External Reviewers

Oana Andrei

Paul Brauner

Samir Genaim

Rémy Haemmerlé

Martin Korp

Naoki Nishida

Miguel Palomino

Yann Radenac

René Thiemann

Christian Urban

 $Aart\ Middeldorp$